Spray painting base coats for large models?

H

hunterjwizard

Hi folks,

I'm kind of new to all of this and hoping to develop it as a fun new skill. Expect a lot of stupid questions from me over the coming weeks.

Anyway, I bought a small airbrush that was described as being "good for beginners" and have read a few tutorials. The tutorial recommended first doing a base coat of white, then a bottom coat of black.

The model I'm using is actually quite large(around 4 feet in length), so I am wondering if I can use regular old spray paint for the base coats, and if so, at what point I should switch over to the air brush. I have a pretty good idea of the color scheme I plan on using, which involves the bulk of the model being done in 2 colors and then details painted in. But since the areas are so large, maybe I should use spray paint for those first bits?

eddiesolo

It's a modelling time!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Si.
At that size just use rattle cans, it will cheaper and far easier. I use grey, red and white primer dependent on top coat. I make RC boats and some large models so this is the easier way to do things.

Use the airbrush for small and detail areas after masking, the bulk use rattle-cans.

Welcome to the forum by the way.

D

dougie

Rattle cans if you don't have access to a spray gun and bigger compressor. A baby spray gun is perfect for this type of work and will do a better job if you have the £. Also cheaper in the long run

H

hunterjwizard

Thank you for the warm welcome and kind responses!

So I do happen to have a full-sized compressor, can you elaborate a bit on what you mean by a "baby spray gun"? I know I can find things like automotive spray guns pretty inexpensively over here. If it'd do a better job than rattle cans I may invest.