The "Future" Is Clear - But not in Australia

8furball

Evening everybody,

I only joined today so forgive me for all the pent up questions. I am pretty new to modelling but have built three 1/72 planes.

Have read a bit about 'finishing' the painted model. The aim to make it look like a true miniature rather than a toy. No Future in the land down under but I think we have Long Life Floor Polish made by Pascoe's. Supposed to be pretty good. Any Aussie modelers please feel free to jump in here and warn me that I am about to turn my Stuka into slag!

So here is a couple of questions

1) Do you apply one coat, apply decals then apply another coat?

2) Its a gloss. How do you bring it back to a matt?

3) Does it make the decals look painted on or do you really need the special decal softener?

4) If you are doing some finishing (mud, engine burn etc.) is that applied after first coat?

5) Is it all do-able with a paint brush? Don't need some fancy (read as expensive) airbrush?

There are so many good websites out there offering their own version of what to do but I wanted to lay these questions down to get a general consensus. ('cos I'm confused)

Hope everybody has a good weekend.

Regards

Justin

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Hi Justin and welcome.

Right then. Future is just a floor polish, it has its uses in modelling due to at the time of its appearance it was the be all and end all. Things have moved on a lot since then. Acrylic varnishes are all over the place and do not cost as much as they might of done 'back then'. Any way that is not what you asked.

I don't know the brand that you mentioned. So only one thing for it. Paint a bit of plastic packaging with the same paints you do your model and then give it a go. If all is well after a day or three, slap it on the model.