Thinning Bottled And Tubed Acrylic Paints

malvern_man

SMF Supporter
First Name
Chris
Hi all,

A question about thinning acrylic paints.

I have a good selection of acrylic paints, the bottled versions ( Vallejo and Citadel ) and the type that come in tubes ( from Hobby Craft ). I normally thin them down with water but I want to try thinning them with a matt medium.

Are all acrylic mediums the same or are some better than others?

Regards, Chris.

Waspie

SMF Supporter
First Name
Doug
I'll start!!!
The one thing I have taken from this site is experimentation. That is how I managed to occasionally get the correct mix. I have a method that works for me, but that's personal choice. Like you, I'm a newbie so not going to add much more. Trial and error - magic way to learn!!!

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
I use mostly Vallejo and I started out using distilled water to thin with. (Our water is basically liquid chalk). But found it made the paint very fragile and normal handling during the build would damage the paint. Use the 'correct' Vallejo thinner now and all is well.
No rules without exception. I use Tamiya acrylics on occasion but thin that with Mr hobby self leveling thinners.
Not all acrylic products are cross compatible some are water base others solvent based and never mix those. Glup will occur.

Reactions: JR

Waspie

SMF Supporter
First Name
Doug
I use mostly Vallejo and I started out using distilled water to thin with. (Our water is basically liquid chalk). But found it made the paint very fragile and normal handling during the build would damage the paint. Use the 'correct' Vallejo thinner now and all is well.
No rules without exception. I use Tamiya acrylics on occasion but thin that with Mr hobby self leveling thinners.
Not all acrylic products are cross compatible some are water base others solvent based and never mix those. Glup will occur.