Vallejo Matt Varnish

A

AVB99

Hello

I have started using this product and I have to say I'm very disappointed. I have four figures in military uniform (German) and I have painted these with Tamiya flat paints. There is a slight sheen on the grren uniform so I decided to use the matt varnish to get rid of it but it doesn't. There is a slight gloss after the varnish has dried. The instructions say to apply light coats. I have applied two so far. I

s it like gloss, the more one adds, the more gloss it gets, but in reverse?

Or am I expecting too much? A number of finished models which are posted here seem to have a slight gloss sheen. Being a relevant newbie I never comment because I have much to learn, but I do, sometimes, wonder. Recently there was a dio posted with figures which had slightly glossy uniforms. (this is not a criticism in any way) Is this a limitation of the tools we have to use? Is it my own lack of skill and I'm doing something wrong?

Any suggestions would be gratefuly appreciated.

Thanks

AIdab

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Hi Aidan,I use the stuff om a lot of my models and get a fairly flat finish. I can only suggest that it might not have been completely mixed. The matting agent (something akin to talcum powder) does tend to drop out of the mixture and a really good stir is required to re-incorporate it. If it is applied with less of the matting agent than it is supposed to have the result will be correspondingly less flat.

Cheers

Steve

A

AVB99

\ said:
Hi Aidan,I use the stuff om a lot of my models and get a fairly flat finish. I can only suggest that it might not have been completely mixed. The matting agent (something akin to talcum powder) does tend to drop out of the mixture and a really good stir is required to re-incorporate it. If it is applied with less of the matting agent than it is supposed to have the result will be correspondingly less flat.Cheers

Steve