WIP: Billing Boats "St. Canute"

P

porschenut

OK. I've found this kit when i was told to tidy my room a few days ago. I got it when i was about 7, but never opened it, and thought id have a go. Ive made a few bits, and thought i'd post them here. but i am a complete newbie to building boats,a nd would love to learn some tips on working with wood, as i normally work with plastic.

model._020.jpg

My Progress^

model._017.jpg

And the Bits^

Euan (who need to see why his camera is taking bad pictures!)

A

adzam

maybe a bit fiddly for a strting kit bud,since if i remember correctly it`s plank on frame construction and not a prmoulded hull,

however i dont think it`s overly complicated, just do some background work, glues etc etc and make sure you read and understand the instructions :smiling3:

B

Bunkerbarge

A plank on frame hull is certainly a challenge for a beginner and your patience will be put to the test. The trouble is that it is a very time consuming process so you may loose interest as progress will be very slow.

I would always start out with a moulded hull for a beginners kit but, if you feel up to it, give it a go. There is certainly a lot of satisfaction in making your own planked hull but is something that I have not yet felt brave enough to have a go at.

You may find this link interesting:

http://debrisfield.russellwild.co.uk/modelgallery/stcanuteds/

P

porschenut

Right, thanks guys! I have started the planking, and its working well. Thanks for the Information and the website is really usefull Richard.

Euan

J

jankers

Euan,

I'm not familiar with that kit but have done planking ,so,

just post queries, ther;s bound to be someone who can help.

One thing you will need for a wooden build is lots of "wet & dry" abrasive paper, get two (or more) sheets of 180, 240, and 400 grit, as well as some 80 and 120 grit 'ordinary sandpaper' as you will use plenty.