Wooden mounting bases...

P

Plasmahal

Hi all,

This is my first time on this forum so please be gentle with me.

I would appreciate any info on where to purchase wooden bases for mounting models. i'm interested in all different shapes and sizes.

I know i could make some myself but i don't have the space and equipment to do it.

Any info would be great.

Thanks.

N

Nigel.D

one of the best sources is wooden drawer fronts they come in all different woods and sizes and most diy or furniture stores have plenty to spare

B

Bunkerbarge

Firstly welcome, always nice to see a new face. We are always gentle with people even Nigel who is now allowed out at weekends for good behaviour.

I can't believe you said drawer fronts as I get my wooden drawer fronts from a garden centre for about a pound and they make superb bases for many things. See attached.

If you want smaller try art shops or if you are lucky enough to have a model shop in your town try them.

View attachment 13356

15-10-03-09COSSACKDETAILS9.jpg

N

new to trains

welcome to the forum

the other place you can get them from is the craft type DIY centres.... HOBBYCRAFT do them also a local craft store sell ovals, and rectantangular bases for a few quid,

on a slightly seperate note you dont need alot of kit to make your own..... a router for the edge profile, ( can get these cheap from screwfix direct) and a jigsaw to cut the initial shape out.... if you plan to get a few bases the investment in the tools will pay for itself.....

B

Bluewavestudios

mmm gonna try one of those wooden drawer fronts for a stand for my HMS Active, she deserves a proper stand after just being propped on top of a box for years....(She is 20 Years old now and still goes well) There is a pic elsewhere on this forum of her sailing.

Regards.....Mark.

P

Phoenix