1/72 Airfix North American F-86F/E(M) Sabre

Geordie

SMF Supporter
First Name
John
Hi. This is my first time posting a build and indeed my first build for many years. Any tips and help would be very welcome. There are 2 schemes to choose from. I’m going for the USAF ‘John Glen’ version.
there were 4 sprees and a clear parts spruce. I’ve put together a few pieces an tried to remove seam lines etc. The main parts of the wings and fuesilage are just dry fitted in the picture. I’m waiting for paint for the cockpit so no glueing yet. There will be a little filling needed at the nose and possibly at the wing roots - I’ll need to see if the gap goes when I glue them.
live got Vallejo gloss black for the primer coat and then I’m going to try either Vallejo Aluminium or Steel for the top coats. They are the Model Air paints and I’ll be trying to airbrush for the first time!
meanwhile I’ll try to mask the canopy and clean up some other parts. I have today I’m impressed with the fit of the parts so far. Things have come a long way.
I’ll post the next pictures as soon as my ‘Interior green’ paint arrives. IMG_2126.jpegIMG_2127.jpegIMG_2128.jpegIMG_2129.jpegIMG_2130.jpegIMG_2131.jpegIMG_2132.jpeg

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Good choice John. These newer Airfix kits are generally pretty good. Lots of "firsts" for you. Constant dry fitting is always useful. Good luck with airbrushing a metallic finish.

Geordie

SMF Supporter
First Name
John
Managed to get the cockpit finished this week. It’s pretty basic with just a seat dropping into a tub with side panels for decals. I painted the panels black before applying the decals as i did with the instrument panel. One panel decal has risen a bit but hopefully will settle back with some Microset. . I made some seatbelts with Tamiya tape. I did try painting the pilot but it wasn’t good!