A Different Direction..............

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David
I've been pondering about 3D printing for a while - I have the over 15 years experience of CAD modelling to draw on and I've been doing a lot of research & watching videos on the subject.
I've considered UV Resin curing resin printers, but the post printing clean up and curing, make it rather impractical in my flat. This really leaves FDM machines & I've been been reading reviews & looking at prices. I've looked at & discounted pre-owned printers - they're complicated machines & troubleshooting an iffy second hand machine isn't for a first time user!
I've finally ordered an Anet A6 printer. This comes as a complete DIY assembly kit, and there's nothing like getting familiar with a gadget, than building it yourself. I'll be using PLA filament initially, then PET-G, if all works out.
I used 3D rapid prototyping services during my workdays & I know the principles, but translating them into solid objects may be a different matter.
The thing should be here next week, so I'll hopefully be able to post some updates!
Dave

Last edited:

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
I've been pondering about 3D printing for a while - I have the over 15 years experience of CAD modelling to draw on and I've been doing a lot of research & watching videos on the subject.
I've considered UV Resin curing resin printers, but the post printing clean up and curing, make it rather impractical in my flat. This really leaves FDM machines & I've been been reading reviews & looking at prices. I've looked at & discounted pre-owned printers - they're complicated machines & troubleshooting an iffy second hand machine isn't for a first time user!