A very small project: Academy 1/144 Sepecat Jaguar

• Thread starter wanna_be_aviator
  • Start date
W

wanna_be_aviator

Hi folks!

I've decided to build this one a couple of weeks ago. It's my second model ever and I thought I could count on you guys for some advice and tips. Please bear with me and my newbie goof offs. It's an Academy 1/144 Sepecat Jaguar, apparently an old mould from 1984. Here is how the kit looks like. Not so impressive as far as quality goes. But I like some of the delicate details, seems alright for the scale IMHO. And since I am a total novice, I can't complain about quality yet, I think I should just take the opportunity to learn something here. Besides, if something goes south, you can blame it on the small scale. Or whatever.

Anyway, the instructions would have you build a Jag GR1 XZ375 "The Guardian Reader" from the 1st Gulf War and that's exactly what I want to build. But what's given to you on the sprues is a Jag A, or a very early Jag without the "chisel" nose. You guys can probably tell it better than me. So I think that some modifications will be required.

View attachment 19976View attachment 19974View attachment 19975

now I don't know what on earth those missiles are but they're certainly not Sidewinders! Gonna have to do something about that.

View attachment 19977

I already started working on that nose. What came at first was a pointy nose. After I glue the fuselage halves I'll give it more definition.

View attachment 19978View attachment 19980

The fuselage came with the cockpit area blanked out. When I saw that something hit me hard in the head and made me decide to build a cockpit for it. I started off by gouging out an opening on the said area.

View attachment 19979View attachment 19981View attachment 19982