Andy T's Italeri 1/24 "Australian Truck"

Andy T

SMF Supporter
First Name
Andy
Thanks to Peter (and Ian) for organising this GB. A shaky start but now we're off :cool:

Here is my offering, rigged out as an Australian long haul road train, based (I think) on a Western Star 4900.

2023-08-01 07.40.10.jpg

This is my first attempt at a truck and only my second go at a "shiny" civvy vehicle. One was a success, one a big fail, so at least this stands a 50/50 chance of coming out okay lol.

I'm still in two minds about the colour scheme. First is the iconic blue & yellow livery of Roads Trains of Australia (RTA). The other is more complex, basically as if an owner/operator had customised his truck with a fancy paint scheme and airbrush work. The second option definitely gives a higher chance of failure but I guess if it goes wrong I can always strip it and go with the simpler design.

I'm also still toying with the idea of trailers, but space, cost & time factors might conspire against me.

Anyhoo, rather than waffle any longer, here are the required sprue shots. A few of the chrome parts (not used in this version) are missing as I've been trying different ways of stripping it off.

Lots of chrome:

2023-08-01 07.41.32.jpg

Mostly chassis & engine

2023-08-01 07.44.29.jpg

Interior, which I'm hoping to embellish

2023-08-01 07.43.48.jpg

The lovely green main body parts

2023-08-01 07.43.14.jpg

Wheels, tyres & decals. Most of the decals won't be used and I'm disappointed with the tyres. I'd expect an outback rig like this to sport something more chunky, but looking at the cost of replacing them they might have to suffice if I can't cut a better pattern into them.

2023-08-01 07.45.14.jpg

Chassis is the first point of call in the instructions and I can't wait to get stuck into all of that black plastic :tired:

Geoffers

SMF Supporter
First Name
Geoff
Looks interesting, I shall watch from the wings :smiling4:

Good luck with your build Andy :thumb2:

Geoff.

Ian M