Castle Diorama - Lizard enclousre

First Name
Mike
Hello
I am a complete newbie in diorama world and I am trying to build a diorama castle to serve as a lizard enclousre. Current progress:
IMG_20220425_224024.jpg
It is made with grout over expanding foam.
Unfortunately I have been defeated by painting the rock. I tried the wash and drybrushing techniques on the topmost level with appaling results:
IMG_20220425_224818.jpg
What I would like is to have charcoal rocks with tint of dark red and blue around the ridges. Any tips how to progress would be highly appreciated.
IMG_20220425_224056.jpg

IMG_20220425_224826.jpg

IMG_20220425_224840.jpgThank you

Best regards
Michal

Gern

'Stashitis' victim
SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
I take it that this is roughly what you've already tried Michal:

It obviously works extremely well for lighter colours - could you try using dark grey, dark brown and black for your three washes? Mind you, I suspect you've used some more durable stuff than plaster to make the rocks. Maybe the material is not absorbing the colours the same way that plaster does?

Mini Me

SMF Supporter
First Name
Rick
Cool video Dave.......gave me a few ideas and I wasn't even looking for a paint tutorial!! Thanks for posting that. :thumb2:

rtfoe

SMF Supporter
First Name
Richard
I'm guessing you dry brushed the rocks while the undercoat of paint was still wet which blended the color in. With all that contours to the surface it would be ideal for dry brushed highlights. You can add some green ochure to the undersides and speckle with pale blue green on the upper rock surfaces for lichen growth. You can still dry brush the edges with thicken red and blue paint for your charcoal rick effect. Used the side of the paint brush for this procedure against the edges.

Cheers,
Richard

First Name
Mike