First Diaorama Attempt - Car MOT Garage - Work in progress!

C

Curtis

I haven't been on the forum since last year (I haven't had time to make any models etc due to moving house & other bit's and bats!) And I'm relatively new to modelling - I've done a few 1/24 plastic kits, which I have posted on the forum before.

Anyway... I've decided to have a go at making a diorama, using balsa and lollipop sticks. Here's what I've done so far (step by step) - honest opinions please! ;)

(The flat roof is going to be boarded, probably using lollipop sticks, with the rounded ends cut off, then I'm going to use firestone rubber as the roof covering. The pitched roof is going to be boarded also, then I'm using my cut-off lollipop stick ends as roof slates. The gable ends will probably be 'cladded' in lollipop sticks like the rest of the building. The garage walls will most probably be corrugated card, unless I think of anything better. That's as much as I've planned so far) :confused:

View attachment 68674

View attachment 68675

View attachment 68676

View attachment 68677

View attachment 68678

View attachment 68679

View attachment 68680

View attachment 68681

View attachment 68682

View attachment 68683

View attachment 68684

View attachment 68685

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

91.jpg

92.jpg

93.jpg

C

Curtis

Thanks Aaron!

I've been looking at alsorts of "roof coverings" for modelling on eBay, but have only either found packs of single roof tiles (which are too expensive), or tiles just printed onto self-adhesive paper, which will probably look awful on it. The lollipop stick ends will probably match in best, and look great. (hopefully!)

C

CDW

Card cut into tiles or similar works well, just size them to the scale you're working on.

Corrogated roofs look good, you can make them out of tin foil or use the rippled card from some fast food packaging.