Hello all, total newbie, looking to learn

• Thread starter Deleted member 7181
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 7181

Hi all, I've been lurking for a while, signed up a few days ago, and thought it was about time I introduced myself.

I'm completely new to model making so have a lot to learn, but there seems to be tons of great information to be found here. I spray cars for a living so am not new to paint, but haven't used an airbrush before so am looking forward to learning that skill in particular.

I picked up a little Spitfire kit to get the ball rolling but I was immediately surprised by how much gear I need to get going. I bought a cheap airbrush to start off with, thinking I could use my existing compressor, but at 96dB it's just way too loud for working in the evening out in my shed / man cave, so have ordered a cheap one of those too. I'm trying to keep investment low for now until I'm sure I want to dive deeply into the hobby, so cheap Chinese stuff will have to suffice.

I'll not drone on for too long but I'm glad to have found this place as I think it's just what I need as I feel my way around my first few simple models.

AlanG

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Alan
Welcome to the forum Andy. Ask any questions you have, The only bad question is the one you don't ask. Don't forget the search facility too. Loads of info already on the forum.

scottie3158

SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
Andy,
Welcome to the forum you have found a great place to be. You will get a whole lot of help if you want it and support, plus a whole lot of friendly banter.

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
Hi Andy
Welcome to a great, friendly forum. Take your time and enjoy learning about the hobby.
Jim

D

Deleted member 7181

Thanks guys.

I've already spent a while searching and looking around but I'll be sure to post up any questions I can't find an answer for.

Dave Ward

Still Trying New Things
SMF Supporter
First Name
David
Welcome Andy,