Howdy boys

First Name
Neal
Hi there, I'm Neal from Texas. I'm not a proliferate modeler, I made a few models as a kid, and couple more in my 40s. The only one that has survived is my Type VII U-boat. So, I am not very experienced. Those are the two eras in my life where I got busy with scale models.

I "retired" about 2 years ago and have gotten started up again. I'm not a naturally skilled craftsman, I've got caveman hands and fingers, so handling 1/350 scale bits is a challenge for me. Still, I am finding the hobby very fulfilling.

I've made a couple of submarine models in the last few weeks, kind of warmups. I'm tackling a Dragon (DML?) Ohio class boomer now, taking my time to make it as good as I can. Next, if I feel capable, I have a large Gato sub model a friend gave me 15 years ago. Hopefully I am up to the task.

I'll probably have a newbie question or two, but Youtube sure does make it easy to get info. Always looking for more though.

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Welcome to the forum Neal. Skill level doesn't matter, it's the enjoyment that counts.....

I too enjoy building U.Boats

Also, with the great, friendly and knowledgeable folk on here, you won't need Youtube!

Enjoy your time with us. :thumb2:

Cheers.
Ron

JR

Member of the Rabble and Pyromania Consultant
SMF Supporter
First Name
John
Welcome Neal .
A few of your country men on here , so your not alone on the time thing .
Any question is answered, so don't worry if you think it's silly .I've asked all those anyway :smiling3:
Enjoy your stay .

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
A warm welcome to the forum Neal. Here there are all levels of skill and experience. We are a friendly, helpful group so I'm sure you'll enjoy your time here. I look forward to seeing your models.
Jim

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrew
Welcome!!!

Airborne01

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve