Shall we beGin?

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
Here’s a little side hobby I’ve been pursuing for a couple of years now , making and drinking (sensibly of course;)) flavoured gins and liqueurs. It all started when Sam my son said there were a lot of blackberries on the spare land over the fence at the bottom of his garden. We we’re both already big fans of gin so the cogs started whirring and a quick google later we had the recipe for blackberry gin. The first one we did was a revelation ,absolutely delicious either neat ( very like a good port) or with tonic as a long fruity drink. We then graduated to sloe gin , then the summer after ,rhubarb and vanilla , rhubarb and raspberry , raspberry and vanilla and blackberry liqueur ( creme de mure) . We added another flavour last year when we decided to see if we could get enough bilberries to make some gin . These beautiful tiny berries are mainly found on moorland in the north and west of the uk so the moors above Sheffield are a perfect hunting ground. I made two bilberry scrabblers using cheap sandwich boxes and hair combs ( see pics) to help harvest them quicker and early on a sunny August morn we gathered enough for two lots of gin. It’s about that time of year again so we’ll be out soon getting this years harvest in. Here’s some pics

Attachments

• C8D20AB4-7576-4896-87A3-BB3008BC7338.jpeg
    C8D20AB4-7576-4896-87A3-BB3008BC7338.jpeg
    126 KB · Views: 15
  • 3CC622A3-D758-41F6-B9D1-4E77D720C784.jpeg
    3CC622A3-D758-41F6-B9D1-4E77D720C784.jpeg
    112.3 KB · Views: 16
  • CB206FFF-8AF0-4F39-B37B-3B40099FE717.jpeg
    CB206FFF-8AF0-4F39-B37B-3B40099FE717.jpeg
    121 KB · Views: 15
  • 5AE0C9A4-8E86-4E51-8D99-0DF1F7C439A2.jpeg
    5AE0C9A4-8E86-4E51-8D99-0DF1F7C439A2.jpeg
    100.6 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:

Mickc1440

SMF Supporter
First Name
Mick
Very nice Tony, I've become a gin convert over the last 12 months thanks to the Mrs., she even has a gin bar in the kitchen.

D