Tamiya 1/35 M4A3 Sherman

A_J_Rimmer

SMF Supporter
First Name
Arnold
Hi All,

Wanted a simple project I could force through the low mojo barrier and actually get finished, so I started this last week. The intention is to build it OOB, with the minimum of work, just to get it over the finish line. That being said however, I'm pretty new to large scale armour modelling, and I've certainly never painted 'real world' figures before, so it's still got it's challenges. I'm also pretty poor at weathering - lots of interesting stuff to learn.

IMG-9537.jpg

Here's where I am thus far - the bottom and upper hull parts assembled, along with all the running gear. Not sure if I should assemble them all together before paint, or paint the parts up first and then assemble. Answers on a post-card please. I know there's a lot of 'issues' with this kit (hatch detail, welds, big arse holes etc.), but I'm choosing to ignore them for this build.

IMG-9559.jpg

IMG-9543.jpg

Annoyingly, one of the rear light guards flew into the either whilst coming off the sprue, so I'll have to scratch-build a new one.

IMG-9560.jpg

I'm hoping to make a start on the Turret this evening.

Last edited:

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
You’re doing well there. I’d put most of it together, but leave the bogies, drive sprockets, and idler wheels loose, as well as the machine gun on top of the turret. This will let you paint the rubber tyres (only the twelve main wheels have those, BTW, not the idler wheels or the small return rollers) much more easily than when the bogies are already glued to the tank. Once painted, you can dry-fit the bogies to see where you need to scrape the paint off so you can glue the bogies to the hull. You don’t need to glue the sprockets and idlers, because they have poly caps inside them so they’re just a push-fit onto their axles.

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim