Tamiya Willys jeep (beginner!)

D

Dave1973

ok, before everyone jumps on me badly, I have only just begun making models, this is my third model, (previous, a scrapyard triumph Tr4a and an F1 car)

Been doing it since Aug this year after I broke my back in two places in a road accident. So this is my past time now!

Anyway, excuse the soldier, I have ordered some flat flesh paint, so I struggled to get anything like a skin tone!

As for the truck, I airbrushed the main parts in Olive Green Matt, then applied the decals. I used Microsol to make them really dig into the crevices. Then i covered it all with Matt varnish. Once dry, I used 1200 grit paper and roughed them up some.

Continued to build the model up, and used decalfix and weathering powders to get the muddy dirt effect. I was happy with this, but obviously, looking at a lot on here, it's amateur.

I'm currently doing an SAS jeep then onto a Challenger tank.

Remember, I'm a newbie at this, so don't expect brilliant work!

View attachment 120628

View attachment 120629

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

D

dougie

I'd be well happy with that, you have used some good techniques and built a good model. I would suggest a less glossy finish on the wheels? Maybe some Matt varnish?

Can't really fault it for one of your first.

Nice work

D

Dave1973

Thanks Dougie.

I was a bit confused by the finish, as I had used Matt Varnish all over to set the weathering, but for some reason it left this sheen,

I think I'm going to go back over the entire model with some Humbrol Mattcote thinned down on the airbrush, especially as I want to do the soldiers skin a better colour.

I wasn't happy with his uniform, I really really struggled with that, I guess I need to read up more and practice.

PaulTRose

Dazed and confused
SMF Supporter
First Name
Paul
cant fault that, i like what you have done with it

like dougie said, the only downside is the shiny finish, i always use Humbrol matt Varnish in a rattle can just for easiness