Andrew's 1/48 Tamiya Raiden

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrew
Good evening all!

That's right.........for those of you that know my work I am deviating from the one true scale that is 1/72.

Having acquired sixteen 1/48 wingy kits in 6 months, it was about time I actually built one. This will be the first ever 1/48 wingy kit I have built and is also my first Japanese plane as far as I can recall - certainly not since I came back to the hobby.

As this is the first large(r) scale aircraft I have built, I will be keeping it very simple. So no mass use of AM parts or PE, aside from some metal barrels. No point in biting off more than I can chew given I'm brand new to this scale and know virtually nothing about Japanese planes. This does though mean that I will have to put up with the heavy Tamiya decals.
:'(

So initial impression is that it's huge....certainly compared to 1/72!!! Truly massive!!
???
:o

Second impression is that for a kit that was first released in 1973 (HERE), it looks pretty good, albeit this is the 2008 reboxing. Obviously not up to modern standards but should turn out a decent enough plane and for the very reasonable price of £13.53 delivered.

I also had to buy some IJN paints for the build too and went for my usual Vallejo ones, and of course having got the paints I was forced to go out and buy more IJN kits to make the most of them!
8-)
So you might see a second one if I can turn this around quickly!! :smiling5:

Oh and in a nice touch is that it contains a couple of good quality pictures of the planes you can build, I assume to make up for the 1973 black and white instructions.

As Andy is also doing one, it will be interesting to see how we approach our respective offerings.

So no more now on this until 1st July!

ATB

Andrew

------------------------

Some vintage instructions......nice and simple.....

And the nice colour shots

Ernie

SMF Supporter
First Name
Ernie