Italeri 1/9 Manx Norton.

JayCee

SMF Supporter
First Name
John
This is my first build of 2023. I have built this before. Way back in the mists of time in the original ProTar boxing. It was originally built OOB the same as the rest of the bikes I built (I had 10 in the cabinet ). I was working on the assumption that because the owner of the firm was an ex world champion who had raced some of the bikes they produced that they would be accurate and detailed. I was wrong, they were simplified and sometimes completely wrong but I intend to try and upgrade this model.
IMG_0678A.JPG
Firstly here be sprue shots.
IMG_0679.JPG
IMG_0680.JPG
and a sample of the destructions.
IMG_0681A.JPG
Before I actually start on the build I feel I should point out an important thing about this kit. If anyone buys the kit to specifically build what it says on the box ( Geoff Duke's 1951 bike ) they would be disappointed. I am not by any stretch an expert on the Manx but I have picked up info over the years plus I also have a copy of Mick Walker's book on the subject. I therefore feel confident to say that it is impossible to build a 1951 bike with what is in the box. There are 3 main faults.
1. The engine. The cylinder barrel on the model is the large finned type where the fins enclose the camshaft drive tube. This type of barrel was introduced in 1954.
2. The oil tank. The model depicts the rectangular type that was introduced in 1961.
3. The front brakes. The model has the 2 Leading Shoe/Double sided brakes that were introduced in 1962 the last full year of production.

After this marathon of waffle I will close for now, until I start the build proper.
Cheers, John.

JayCee

SMF Supporter
First Name
John