Tamiya Enamel Vs Humbrol Enamels - Advice needed

B

Builder

Hi All,

Before I begin my question, I wish to ask mostly those people who use or have used mainly enamel paints - hopefully there are a few of you out there.. I know one (Patrick! .. I think)

Most articles I find on this topic are about Tamiya Acrylics vs Humbrol Enamels, hence why my post, as I have never seen these two being discussed together or compared anywhere. 

As I'm new to the modelling scene. I currently have only one paint range.. the only paint range available to me... Tamiya Enamels. But recently I have found places that sell Humbrol Enamels as well. Now these are sold for around the same price but I am getting 4ml more per tin, as Tamiya enamels come in 10mL bottles. 

As most of the people on here are Brits, I'm guessing many of you must have used Humbrol. My question then is has anyone had experience (more than a year) using both Tamiya and Humbrol enamels, if so then

1. Are Humbrol enamels better, the same or worse than Tamiya enamels?
  2. Are their any major differences between the two?
  3. Do Humrbol have a larger, smaller or about the same paint range than Tamiya?
  4. Are the Humbrol tins as easy to use as the Tamiya bottles?

I hope there are a few enamelers out here so any answer will be helpful. 

Bob the Builder. 

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
I didn't even know that Tamiya did Enamel paint. I do know that any paint that comes in a glass bottle with a screw top lid is often doomed after the first use. I have some that I have NEVER been able to open once let alone twice.

I do Use enamel from time to time and Stona uses nothing but.

2. Humbrol are easier to fine (most places). 

3 ?

4, Pop of the lid stir paint! clean the rim pop the lid on again. 

D

dubster72

Well Bob, I'm actually quite glad that you've asked this question because I think you're working under a slight misconception.