Thinking of buying a new airbrush...

Sprue42

SMF Supporter
First Name
Ralph
Hi Guys, I am not new to airbrushing, I have been using them for over 50 years. Most of them are that age too! Got my first DeVilbiss aerograph when I was around 17. I was also lucky enough to be involved with Morris and Ingram, who were the early UK distributor of Badger Airbrushes and acquired several of their early airbrushes. Along with a few others that were around at the time.

I have used airbrushes both for work and hobby over the years. My DeVilbiss airbrushes are all gravity fed but have very small paint reservoirs machined out of the body. Ideal for small detail application of high pigment viscous inks and solvent-based paints. heavier paints will clog it and require too much air pressure for fine work.

The badger and Paasche airbrushes are fine for use with enamels. All are bottom/side feed or external mix airbrushes. I used them on and off for years but have not done any amount modelling with them in decades.

Now I am coming back to the hobby I am looking for a decent double action brush that has a decent size gravity cup that will handle modern acrylic paint without having to increase the air pressure too much. I am looking at the Iwata Eclipse HP-CS which seems to fit the bill. Having never used or even held an Iwata brush I would like the hear your opinions on my proposed purchase or hear any recommendations for other airbrushes.

Ralph.

Last edited:

Mini Me

SMF Supporter
First Name
Rick
Been using my Paasche VL for over 40 years....never had a clog and I only shoot solvent based enamels and lacquers. Replaced the needle , air cap and tip once.....problem free if you stay away from latex and acrylics.

Tworrs

SMF Supporter
First Name
Garry