HMS Victory

OldMart

SMF Supporter
First Name
Martin
Hi everyone. Just trying to work out things.
I am attempting to build the Caldercraft HMS Victory 1/72 scale model. I did start before I found your site, sorry about that. Anyway, I am a total novice so please bear with me. I hope that the pictures are ok. Will take more soon. MartinIMG_20230409_092325563.jpgScreenshot_20230506-091008-855.png

stillp

SMF Supporter
First Name
Pete
Watching with interest. I always follow Victory builds. My dad started a wooden model of Victory, from plans purchased from The Woodworker magazine sometime during or very soon after WW2. The hull was carved from two pieces of pitch pine, with a plywood keel. Dad had shaped the hull and made many of the masts and spars when he was killed in a road accident. I was 9 years old, and started to try to finish the model, which didn't go very well. After a few decades and several house moves I'd lost many of the small parts, and the hull had a bad case of woodworm, so it had to be thrown out.
Pete

OldMart

SMF Supporter
First Name
Martin
Watching with interest. I always follow Victory builds. My dad started a wooden model of Victory, from plans purchased from The Woodworker magazine sometime during or very soon after WW2. The hull was carved from two pieces of pitch pine, with a plywood keel. Dad had shaped the hull and made many of the masts and spars when he was killed in a road accident. I was 9 years old, and started to try to finish the model, which didn't go very well. After a few decades and several house moves I'd lost many of the small parts, and the hull had a bad case of woodworm, so it had to be thrown out.
Pete
What a shame.

OldMart

SMF Supporter
First Name
Martin