New to Airbrushing question?

Modler bob

SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
Right on the correct forum, I think :smiling3:
I have no experience with air spaying, not even from a shaking tin (apart from my old cars)
So what would be a first reasonably priced air sprayer to buy, please?
I wouldn't mind a second-hand one. Is there a classified forum for that?

Andy the Sheep

SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrea
Bob, my experience in airbrushing is not very impressive; I have an old Badger 150 and this means it's a bottom fed a/b. In fact, it sucks the paint from a pot under the nozzle, thus requiring more energy to do the job while a gravity fed one takes advantage of the gravity to let the paint flow into the airflow and then through the nozzle and onto the model.
My only suggestions are:
  • choose a gravity fed one; it works at lower pressure and, as far as I know, it's better for finer paint works.
  • as a newbie in a/b, look for an easy-to-disassemble-and-clean airbrush. An airbrush which is difficult to clean is something that could make you hate this painting technique.
Two more points in favour of a gravity fed a/b:
first: almost all a/b I see on other modellers' benches are gravity fed and I'm pretty sure there's at least one good reason for that; :smiling4:
second: I'm seriously considering to buy a second a/b, a gravity fed one! ;)

The second item needed to enter the airbrushers' world is a compressed air source.
There are many compressor on the market at very different prices (a search on Internet will give you thousand of possibilities; here is a sample LINK).