What’s the difference between a ship and a boat?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bilbo

SMF Supporter
First Name
Dom
Looking to make sure I post in the right section. I’d assume that the Shell Welder is a ship but not sure...

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
Size, but there’s no hard and fast limit that’s generally agreed upon. Here’s an article that might shed some light:

bilbo

SMF Supporter
First Name
Dom
Size, but there’s no hard and fast limit that’s generally agreed upon. Here’s an article that might shed some light:
Thanks Jakko, that helped clear things up :smiling3: seems like the only thing that people agree on is a shop is bigger than a boat and that if it floats it can be a ship or a boat but I f it is a submarine it’s definitely a boat.

stillp

SMF Supporter
First Name
Pete
A few years ago I was an expert witness at an inquest into a fatality at sea. One of the other witnesses was the Chief Investigator from the MAIB (Marine Accident Investigation Branch), and he had studied at a nautical college that was an annex of the technical college where I used to work. I asked him this question, and his reply was that there isn't a distinct answer, so their official policy is to call them all "vessels". Apparently there are many boats that are bigger than many ships. Ships often carry boats, but some boats also carry boats, although boats don't carry ships!
Pete

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
The plimsoll line. Ships have them, boats don't. well at least that how it was explained to me, by a ship's navigator.

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
there isn't a distinct answer, so their official policy is to call them all "vessels".
This seems the sensible thing to do to me. Or just to stop pretending there’s a meaningful difference in the real world :smiling3: