1/72 HMS Iron Duke - Type 23 Frigate

Tworrs

SMF Supporter
First Name
Garry
Having been inspired by some very talented builders on this forum, and being the sucker for punishment that I am, I ordered a set of plans for HMS Iron Duke from Quaycraft for the Type 23 Frigate in 1/72 scale in April 2022.
Boatman has been very helpful in getting me going, and has been on at me since the beginning to post on the forum, however I refused. Firstly, as you may all remember, I only got back into model making this year, and I didn't feel confident enough to "bare my all" for the world to see. Secondly, I thought that I would rather spend my time building, than posting on the forum, and thirdly the fear of if I messed it up completely, and had to call it quits, that would be rather embarrassing.
Now to the present, and all these months later, I have come to the conclusion that being a rookie I am bound to make mistakes, (which I have), and as I have learned so much from the other talented builders on the forum (who also make mistakes), that there might be some benefits to me starting a build log so that others can see that even a totally inexperienced modeller can build something that I initially thought would be completely outside my capabilities.
So here we go, which will be a surprise to Chris :smiling:
I received the set of 5 plans on 14th May 2022, and while I have been building, I have photographed my steps along the way, so I will be posting my progress to this build log over the next while, until I have caught up to where I am at that stage, and then take it from there.
I hope you enjoy my journey as much as I have.
Garry

Last edited:

Tworrs

SMF Supporter
First Name
Garry
I decided that as far as possible I would scratch build, obviously there will be certain items that are beyond my capabilities, and will have to be bought.
Here is the frame drawing, and the cut out frames, 34 in total.
Garry
21 May