Sqn. Ldr. Ray Hanna A.F.C. & Bar being a very, very naughty boy!

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
I built that recent diddy 1/144 Spitfire so I could have a stab at Ray Hanna flying his Spitfire under a certain bridge.

Here goes.....
Bridge first.
As usual, I draw the outline of the subject on to a piece of paper, then transferred the cutout onto a bit of foam board and then cut the board.

This is my first attempt. I even scribed the stonework onto one of the boards. Luckily, I only need to detail one side of the bridge. I then discovered the bridge arches I'd cut were way off. I tried to correct it, but to no avail.

So under my boot it went (sort of)

The master plan!
P1340262.JPG

Onto the board
P1340263.JPG

Under my 'Boot'
P1340264.JPG

I was not going to be beaten by a bit of paper and a dumb first attempt, so I set to with a will this morning.

Here's the Mark II. Much better shape.
P1340265.JPG

The bridge stonework is very thin and random
P1340266.JPG

Anyway, we are now off and running.

Cheers.

Thomas Telford II

Allen Dewire

Proud Rabble Member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Allen
Dang Ron, haven't even commented on your garden bug build yet and you're off and running again. This looks to be a very interesting project you're concocting here Sir...Sorry to hear (like Dave) there will be no chucking up on this one. It seems you have put your fine lady out of work too, lately..............

Prost
Allen

tigersteve

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Brilliant history - just been reading the story, I was lucky enough to see MH 434 up close taking off from Duxford a few years ago (I'm guessing this was the Spitfire he used?) Naturally will be watching the build with great interest!DSC_0111.jpgDSC_0113.jpgDSC_0140.jpg

Last edited:

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Thanks for all your positive posts, links and pictures. All good stuff.

Steve. the aircraft is the one that he flew for the 'Stunt'